January 2024 Community Call – Connecting the dots – linking preprints to other outputs with Martyn Rittman

Date: 2024-01-24
Time: 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Location: Zoom
24 January 2024 at noon EST/9am PST/5pm GMT/6pm CET At our first Community call of 2024, on 24 Jan, we will discuss the linking of preprints to other outputs. The research community produces multiple outputs relating to any individual research project including data sets, methodologies and protocols, peer reviews, outreach or media and more. Linking […]

Poster advertising a community call with a photo of Lonni Besancon

November 2023 Community Call – The trials and tribulations of post publication peer review

Date: 2023-11-20
Time: 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
20 November 2023 at 11am EST/8am PST/4pm GMT/5pm CET At our next Community call on 20 November 2023, we will host a discussion on the recent high-profile examples of the dangers to preprint commenting and highlighting of research misconduct. As preprint reviewing and commenting increasingly drives the push towards transparency, these topics become ever more […]

Community and commercialization in biomedical preprint servers

Date: 2023-10-27
Time: 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm
Location: Zoom
27th October 2023 8.00-9.30am PST / 11.00-12.30 EST / 4.00-5.30pm UK This year’s open access week theme, “Community over Commercialization,” is relevant to not only journals but also other parts of the scholarly communication infrastructure. There are now over 50 preprint servers for the biomedical community, many of which—including the largest by monthly volume, Research […]

July community call: Driving recognition of preprints in research assessment

Date: 2023-07-26
Time: 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Location: Zoom (online)
Wednesday, 26 July, 9am San Francisco / 12pm New York / 4pm UTC / 5pm London / 6pm Berlin / 9:30pm Mumbai The recognition of preprints by publishers has been a significant step in preprints becoming common usage in the life sciences. In more recent years, funding bodies and hiring committees have implemented policies recognising […]

ASAPbio – SciELO 25 Years Seminar

Date: 2023-04-25
Time: 11:00 am
Location: Online
Preprints promote the rapid and open sharing of research, typically prior to formal peer review. However, they also carry another benefit: they enable peer review to proceed in new and more productive ways. Open feedback and review of preprints can promote more rigorous and informative evaluation that involves broader participation from the scholarly community. In […]

ASAPbio’s NIH RFI information session and response workshop

Date: 2023-04-18
Time: 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Location: Online
The US NIH has released a Request for Information (RFI) about its proposed public access policy (https://grants.nih.gov/grants/guide/notice-files/NOT-OD-23-091.html). This is an important opportunity for researchers and other community members to voice support for open access and open science. Responses, which can be written by anyone, are due April 24. Join ASAPbio for an RFI information session […]

January Community Call – Preprints in Japan and China: perspectives from Jxiv and Sciencepaper Online

Date: 2023-01-25
Time: 9:00 am - 10:00 am
Location: Online
The popularity and acceptance of preprints vary among scientific disciplines and geographical regions. Some environments (e.g. research disciplines, funder and institution policies) are more supportive of researchers preprinting their manuscripts, while others may discourage it. During this Community Call, we will engage in conversation about perceptions of preprints among research communities in East Asia. We […]

Recognizing Preprint Peer Review

Start date: 2022-12-01
End date: 2022-12-02
Time: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Location: Online
Public review of preprints offers many benefits. It enables reviewers to focus on the science itself, allows authors to engage in constructive dialog with reviewers, and provides context on preprints for readers. cOAlition S and EMBO Postdoctoral Fellowships have recently announced that they recognize peer-reviewed preprints as peer-reviewed publications, and some journals are accepting reviews from services such as Peer […]