This calendar lists publicly-accessible events relevant to preprints and open peer review. They are not necessarily organized or endorsed by ASAPbio.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar ‘Preprints – Accelerating plant sciences and agriculture’

April 29 @ 10:00 am - 11:00 am EDT

29 April 2021, 3pm London | 10am New York | 4pm Cape Town | 7:30pm Delhi | 7am San Francisco

The use of preprints has accelerated in the last few years with many researchers now sharing their latest work with the scientific community before or in parallel to publication with a journal. After a slower start compared to other research fields, adoption of preprints in the plant sciences and agriculture is growing well.

Why are researchers in plant and agricultural sciences posting preprints? What should you consider before you post a preprint? How does a preprint relate to a journal publication? In this webinar, we will discuss the outlook of preprints in plant sciences and agriculture, explore what can be learned from fields with a longer tradition of preprint use and hear from researchers who have successfully used preprints for the communication of their research.

Speakers

Niklaus Grünwald – Research Plant Pathologist at the Horticultural Crops Research Laboratory, USDA Agricultural Research Service, courtesy Professor at Oregon State University, founding Editor-in-Chief for CABI Agriculture and Bioscience.

Sridhar Gutam – Senior Scientist at ICAR-Indian Institute of Horticultural Research. Convenor for Open Access India, founder of the Open Access Journal of Medicinal and Aromatic Plants, agriRxiv and IndiaRxiv.

Samantha Hindle – Content Manager at bioRxiv and medRxiv, Co-founder of PREreview.

Stephanie van Wyk – Post-doctoral research fellow at the Forestry and Agricultural Biotechnology Institute, University of Pretoria.

Panel moderators

Andy Robinson, Managing Director, Publishing and Knowledge Business, CABI ​​​

Iratxe Puebla, Associate Director, ASAPbio

Details

Date:
April 29
Time:
10:00 am - 11:00 am EDT
Website:
https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_zVKpTSrjRAGLMphOcQeL9A

Have an event to add to the calendar? Please share a url with event details with jessica.polka@asapbio.org.